The research led by the ACTION group focuses on answering questions doctors ask daily.

Our objective is to provide better treatment, by searching the best diagnosis tools, optimized protocols and ultimately the best care for patients hospitalized for heart disease.

Acute coronary syndrome

Have influence on patient care with acute coronary syndrome

As an example, several major internationally recognized randomized trials, enrolling 6000 patients, have been conducted by ACTION Group testing new treatment strategies. These trials impacted directly the international recommendations and the daily care of the patients.

Image coronaires

  • ATOLL, investigating the identification of the best anti-coagulation strategy in the pre-hospitalization phase of ST segment elevation myocardial infarction (Montalescot et al. Lancet 2011). The data were used in a meta-analysis study (Silvain et al. BMJ 2012) and directly impacted the European and American cardiology recommendations on treatment of myocardial infarction.
  • ACCOAST, evaluating the best strategy to use prasugrel at patient admission or after coronary angiographyin acute coronary syndrome without ST segment elevation (Montalescot et al. NEJM 2013).
  • More recently ATLANTIC (Montalescot et al. NEJM 2014), the first randomized trial to evaluate the use of ticagrelor as pre-treatment of the myocardial infarction. This publication directly impacted the European and American recommendations on treatment of myocardial infarction.
  • ARCTIC (Collet et al. NEJM 2012) and ANTARCTIC (Cayla et al. Lancet 2016) have studied the individualization of antiplatelet therapy in coronary patients undergoing revascularization with percutaneous coronary stenting. These studies are to date the largest studies and best scientific evidence published in the field.

Image analyse thrombus

Better apprehend the coronary disease

ACTION Group investigates the mechanism and decisive factors of coronary thrombosis. ACTION Group has in particular contributed to a better understanding of the thrombus (blood clot) constituents in the development of acute coronary syndrome with ST segment elevation (Silvain et al. JACC 2010), essential to improve the therapeutic targets.

Better understand treatment reaction

The ACTION Group is part of the research team which discovered genetic resistance to clopidogrel (Hulot et al. Blood 2006, Collet et al. Lancet 2009), a major risk factor of stent thrombosis and event recurrence. (Cayla et al. JAMA 2011), despite good compliance with the prescribed drug. This research has led to various clinical trials by Action Group testing the strategy of a tailored treatment based on the genotype of each patient or the biological response to the treatment, with the objective to improve the prognosis (Collet et al. NEJM 2012, Collet et al. ThrombHaemost. 2015).

Improve treatment of complications

Our research team also investigates new therapies to improve the treatment of complications occurring with acute coronary syndrome. Treatments, such as blood transfusion, used for many decades, are examined in terms of efficiency and safety in the specific field of coronary thrombosis in case of bleeding (Silvain et al. Eur Heart J 2010 and JACC 2014). These investigations established the basis for a designated randomized trial with the purpose of identifying useful solutions for clinical practices.

Interventional cardiology

What is interventional cardiology ?

Truly revolutionary in the field of myocardial infarct treatment, the first implant of an endocoronary stent, a medical device apposed to the coronary wall, narrowed by cholesterol deposit, celebrated it’s 40th anniversary in 2016.
Wether with endocoronary prosthesis, percutaneous valve or auricular closing device, interventional cardiology is the instrumental treatment of cardiac diseases.

Image TAVI

Coronary angioplasty and structural cardiology

ACTION Group studies the new generation stents, which are self-expandable and enable an improved apposition to the coronary artery wall. We also focus on the intracoronary imaging techniques to guarantee the immediate good result of the stent implant and therefore avoid complications, especially stent thrombosis due to wrong apposition.
New discipline not even 15 years old, structural cardiology consists in using percutaneous way to treat narrowed cardiac valves (aortic narrowing) or leakingvalves (mitral insufficiency) or by closing some holes (intra-atrial septal defects) which favour embolismof cardiac origin(and therefore CVA) : it is no longer necessary to anesthetize the patient and open the heart !

Better define the medical treatment associated with the use of those new technologies

ACTION Group and its network of researchers address the problem of finding the best pharmaceutical treatments once the percutaneous valves have been positioned (TAVI) or the left atrial appendages have been closed.

Heart failure

A major stake for everybody involved in public health

Heart failure is a chronic disease which represents a real stake for public health as it concerns over 1 million people in France, with a death rate up to 5% per year. 150 000 people are hospitalized every year with heart failure, which represents 1% of the public health budget, i.e. over 1 billion euro each year. This chronic disease has a functional, psychological and social impact on the patients with several periods of re-hospitalization for cardiac decompensation or associated complications.
Treatment of these patients should cover a global and multidisciplinary strategy : cardiologic follow-up, nutritional aspects consultation, improvement of the quality of life, of the autonomy and the psychological state.

Heart failure : a clinical syndrome of several possible causes

After suffering a myocardial infarction, a valvular pathology or myocarditis, chemiotherapy or a genetic disorder, the function and structure of the heart can be severely damaged. This alteration leads to the disability to secure the necessary blood flow for the functioning of the organism (4 to 5 L/min for women and 5 to 6 L/min for men). As a result patients suffer from breathlessness, leg edema and a substantial alteration of their health. ACTION Group addresses these causal diseases through its research and contributes to the prevention and improved treatments.

Image traitements

Innovating therapeutic trials with state of the art tools

In 2015 ACTION Group started the therapeutic trial AGENT-HF in 5 french centers, aiming at improving the cardiac function of patients with a severe left ventricular disorder with important symptoms. This trial evaluated the promising and innovating hypothesis of the benefit of intra-coronary transfer of the SERCA2a gene to improve the systolic and diastolic function of the left ventricle.

Myocarditis

A little known pathology

Myocarditis, defined as an inflammation of the cardiac muscle, and the symptoms of which vary from simple chest pain to a state of shock, have been so long a pathology requiring a heart biopsy as a diagnosis. The advent of the MRI resulted in an easier diagnosis and as a result a better care take. Nevertheless, despite the progress made on diagnosis over the last fifteen years, myocarditis still represents the second cause of sudden death in young patients and is likely to cause 10% of dilated cardiomyopathies.
Image IRM
The causes of myocarditis are diverse : mainly of infectious origin, especially viral, they can also be bacterial, fungal, toxic, allergic or associated with a system disease. If the prognosis of so called fulminant myocarditis is hindered on a short term by a risk of transplantation and death, the long term prognosis is good. The long term evolution of acute myocarditis however remains little known and varies from total recovery of the myocardial function to the evolution towards a dilated cardiomyopathy, rhythm disorder or recurrence.

A research topic to be developed

Because of its large clinical, etiological variability and its globally good prognosis, myocarditis is the poor relation of cardiovascular research compared with coronary disease, arterial hypertension and valve disease. This is reflected by the absence of a specific treatment as well as the very low level of international recommendations.
The ACTION group initiated an academic research trial, ARAMIS, financed by a national PHRC, which is evaluating a treatment by interleukin 1 in acute myocarditis.

Les recherches menées par le groupe ACTION ont pour but de répondre aux questions que se posent au quotidien les médecins.

C’est par la réalisation, la conception et l’organisation d’essais cliniques de grande envergure, que nous nous engageons pour l’amélioration des connaissances et l’évolution de la prise en charge des patients hospitalisés pour raison cardiaque.

Syndrome coronarien aigu

Faire la différence dans la prise en charge du syndrome coronarien aigu

Plusieurs essais randomisés majeurs et internationalement reconnus, ayant enrôlé plus de 6000 patients, ont été conduit par le groupe ACTION en testant de nouvelles stratégies de traitement. Ces études ont directement impacté les recommandations internationales et la prise en charge au quotidien des patients.

Image coronaires

  • L’étude ATOLL, qui s’intéressait à l’identification de la meilleure stratégie d’anticoagulation dans le traitement pré hospitalier du syndrome coronarien aigu avec sus décalage du segment ST (Montalescot et al. Lancet 2011). Ces données ont pu être utilisées dans une méta analyse (Silvain et al. BMJ 2012) et directement impacter les recommandations européennes et américaines de cardiologie sur la prise en charge de l’infarctus du myocarde.
  • L’étude ACCOAST, qui évaluait la meilleure stratégie d’utilisation du prasugrel dans le syndrome coronarien aigu sans sus décalage du segment ST, dès l’admission du malade, ou après la coronarographie. (Montalescot et al. NEJM 2013).
  • Ou, plus récemment, l’étude ATLANTIC (Montalescot et al. NEJM 2014), qui a été le premier essai randomisé à évaluer l’utilisation du ticagrelor en prétraitement dans la prise en charge de l’infarctus du myocarde. Cette publication a directement impacté les recommandations américaines et européennes de prise en charge de l’infarctus du myocarde.
  • ARCTIC (Collet et al., NEJM 2012) et ANTARCTIC (Cayla et al., Lancet 2016) ont étudié l’individualisation de la thérapie antiplaquettaire chez des patients après revascularisation coronaire par implantation percutanée de stent. Ces études sont à ce jour celles ayant inclus le plus de patients et ayant conduit aux preuves scientifiques le plus pertinentes dans ce domaine.

Image analyse thrombus

Mieux comprendre la maladie coronaire

Le groupe ACTION étudie les mécanismes et les déterminants de la thrombose coronaire. Le groupe a notamment contribué à une meilleure compréhension des constituants du thrombus (caillot) au décours du syndrome coronaire aigu avec sus décalage du segment ST (Silvain et al. JACC 2010), ce qui est essentiel afin de mieux appréhender les thérapeutiques.

Mieux comprendre la réponse au traitement

Le groupe ACTION fait parti des équipes de recherche à l’origine de la découverte de la résistance génétique au clopidogrel (Hulot et al. Blood 2006, Collet et al. Lancet 2009), qui est un facteur de risque majeur de thrombose de stent et de récurrence d’événements (Cayla et al. JAMA 2011), et ce malgré une bonne compliance au médicament prescrit. Ces travaux de recherche ont abouti a la réalisation de plusieurs essais cliniques par le groupe ACTION afin de tester la stratégie d’un traitement personnalisé basé sur le génotype de chaque patient ou sur la réponse biologique au traitement afin d’améliorer in fine le pronostic du patient (Collet et al. NEJM 2012, Collet et al. Thromb Haemost. 2015).

Mieux prendre en charge les complications

Notre groupe de recherche étudie également les nouvelles voies thérapeutiques permettant d’améliorer la prise en charge des complications pouvant survenir lors d’un syndrome coronaire aigu. Des traitements, comme la transfusion sanguine, utilisés depuis des décennies, sont par exemple étudiés en termes d’efficacité et de sécurité dans le domaine particulier de la thrombose coronaire, lorsque survient un saignement (Silvain et al. Eur Heart J 2010 and JACC 2014). Ces études ont été notamment à la base de l’élaboration d’une étude randomisée désignée et conduite par notre réseau de médecins chercheurs afin de fournir une réponse utile en pratique clinique.

Cardiologie interventionnelle

Qu’est-ce que la cardiologie interventionnelle ?

Véritable révolution dans la prise en charge de l’infarctus du myocarde, la première implantation d’un stent coronaire, dispositif médico-implantable que l’on impacte dans la paroi de l’artère coronaire rétrécie par une plaque de cholestérol ou occluse par un thrombus, a fêté son 40ème anniversaire en 2016.
Que ce soit aujourd’hui par prothèse endocoronaire, valve percutanée ou dispositif de fermeture d’auricule, la cardiologie interventionnelle correspond tout simplement la prise en charge instrumentale de la maladie cardiaque.

Image TAVI

Angioplastie coronaire et cardiologie structurelle

Le groupe ACTION s’intéresse aux nouveaux stents, dits auto-expandables, qui permettent une meilleure apposition à la paroi de l’artère coronaire mais aussi aux techniques d’imagerie endo-coronaire pour s’assurer du bon résultat immédiat de la pose de stent et éviter ainsi les complications, en particulier la thrombose de stent liée à une mal-apposition.
Nouvelle discipline née il y a moins de 15 ans, la cardiologie structurelle consiste à traiter les valves cardiaques rétrécies (rétrécissement aortique) ou fuyantes (insuffisance mitrale) ou à fermer certaines communications (communication inter-auriculaire) qui favorisent les embolisation à point de départ cardiaque (et donc les AVC), et le tout par voie percutanée : il n’est ainsi plus nécessaire d’endormir le patient et d’ouvrir le cœur !

Mieux définir les traitements médicaux associés à l’utilisation de ces nouvelles technologies

Le groupe ACTION et son réseau de chercheurs s’attèlent à essayer de trouver les meilleurs traitements pharmacologiques une fois que les valves percutanées ont été mises en place (TAVI) ou que les auricules ont été fermées.

Insuffisance cardiaque

Un enjeu majeur de santé publique pour tous les acteurs de santé

L’insuffisance cardiaque est une maladie chronique représentant un véritable enjeu de santé publique puisqu’elle touche plus d’un million de français, avec une mortalité représentant jusqu’à 5 % des décès chaque année. En plus d’être à l’origine de 150 000 hospitalisations par an, elle représente 1% des dépenses totales de santé soit 1 milliard d’euros annuel. Cette pathologie chronique entraine un retentissement fonctionnel, psychologique et social important chez les patients qui en souffrent, avec de nombreuses ré-hospitalisations pour décompensations cardiaques ou complications associées.
La prise en charge de ces patients doit comprendre une stratégie globale et multidisciplinaire : suivi cardiologique, consultation nutritionnelle, amélioration de la qualité de vie, de l’autonomie et de l’état psychologique.

L’insuffisance cardiaque : un syndrome clinique, plusieurs cardiopathies

Suite à un infarctus du myocarde, une pathologie valvulaire ou une myocardite, une chimiothérapie ou une anomalie génétique, la fonction et la structure du cœur peuvent être significativement endommagées. Cette altération entraîne une incapacité du muscle cardiaque à assurer le débit sanguin nécessaire (4 à 5 L/min chez la femme, 5 à 6 L/min chez l’homme) au fonctionnement de l’organisme : c’est l’insuffisance cardiaque chronique. En conséquence, les patients souffrent d’un essoufflement, d’œdèmes des membres inférieurs et d’une véritable altération de leur état de santé. Par ses recherches de pointe sur ces maladies causales, le groupe ACTION contribue à la prévention et la prise en charge de l’insuffisance cardiaque chronique chez les patients atteints de pathologies cardiovasculaires.

Image traitements

Des études thérapeutiques innovantes menées avec des outils de pointe

En 2015, le groupe ACTION débutait l’essai thérapeutique AGENT-HF dans 5 centres en France, visant à améliorer la fonction cardiaque des patients porteurs d’une dysfonction ventriculaire gauche sévère avec des symptômes importants, évaluant l’hypothèse prometteuse et innovante d’un bénéfice du transfert intra-coronarien du gène SERCA2a pour améliorer la fonction systolique et diastolique du ventricule gauche.

Myocardite

Une pathologie longtemps méconnue

La myocardite, définie comme une inflammation du muscle cardiaque, et dont les symptômes variables vont de la simple douleur thoracique à l’état de choc, a été longtemps une pathologie dont le diagnostic nécessitait une biopsie du cœur. L’avènement de l’IRM a permis d’en rendre le diagnostic plus aisé et ainsi en faciliter la prise en charge. Pourtant malgré les progrès diagnostic effectués ces quinze dernières années, la myocardite représente toujours la 2ème cause de mort subite chez le sujet jeune et serait la cause de 10% des cardiopathies dilatées.
Image IRM
Les causes de myocardites sont multiples : essentiellement d’origine infectieuse et notamment virale, elles peut également être d’origine bactérienne, fongique, toxique, allergique ou associées à une maladie de système. Si le pronostic des myocardites dites fulminantes est entravé à court terme avec un risque de transplantation et de décès, le pronostic à long terme est bon. L’évolution à long terme des myocardites aiguës restent néanmoins mal connus et varie de la récupération totale de la fonction myocardique à une évolution vers la cardiopathie dilatée, la survenue de troubles du rythme, ou la récidive.

Un domaine de recherche à développer

De par sa grande variabilité clinique, étiologique, et son pronostic globalement bon, la myocardite est l’un des parents pauvres de la recherche cardiovasculaire en comparaison à la maladie coronaire, l’hypertension artérielle, et les valvulopathies. L’absence de traitement spécifique en est le témoin, tout comme le faible niveau de preuve des recommandations internationales.
Le groupe de recherche ACTION est à l’origine d’une recherche académique financée par un PHRC national qui évaluera un traitement par inhibiteur de l’interleukine 1 dans la myocardite aiguë, ARAMIS.